Literacy Leadership Awards 2017

Literacy Leadership Awards 2017

The NCL Literacy Leadership Awards event on October 4 was a great success, attended by numerous Congressional staffers and representatives of organizations across the adult literacy spectrum. Four awards were given:

Representative Rosa DeLauro (CT), for her long-standing dedication to our nation’s adult literacy and language programs. The Congresswoman was unable to attend the awards event in person, as she was busy with budget debate on the House floor at the time. Her legislative aide Brandon Honoré accepted the award on her behalf. The award was presented by Judy Mortrude of CLASP, the nominating organization, and Deborah Kennedy, NCL president.


DeLauro Award
Brendan Honore receives the award on behalf of Congresswoman DeLauro


Dr. Stephen Reder, Professor Emeritus of Applied Linguistics, Portland State University, for his tireless advocacy for adult learners and the field of adult education. Dr. Reder was not able to attend the event. He was nominated by both ProLiteracy and Margaret Patterson of Research Allies for Lifelong Learning, and his award was presented by Michele Diecuch of ProLiteracy.

M Diecuch photo
Michele Diecuch presents the Literacy Leadership Award to Steve Reder.

The Minnesota ABE Teaching and Learning Advancement System (ATLAS) at Hamline University, for its innovative, practitioner-centered program that provides quality in-service professional development for the ABE/ESOL workforce. Silja Kallenbach of World Education, the nominating organization, presented the award to Patsy Egan and Marisa Squadrito Geisler of ATLAS.

ATLAS award photo
Patsy Egan and Marisa Geisler of ATLAS with Silja Kallenbach of World Education

Sharon Darling, Founder and President, the National Center for Families Learning, for her key role in recognizing the critical link between parents’ education and children’s learning. Sharon spoke movingly of the importance of high quality, accessible family-based education. Representative John Yarmuth of Kentucky came straight to the event when debate on the House floor had ended, and arrived just in time to congratulate Sharon in person.

Yarmuth Darling photo
Congressman Yarmuth congratulates Sharon Darling.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: