Nominations Open for 2018 Literacy Leadership Awards

Nominations Open for 2018 Literacy Leadership Awards

The National Coalition for Literacy is seeking nominations for its annual Literacy Leadership Awards. These awards recognize individuals and organizations whose contributions to the field of adult education and literacy are national in scope or have national significance.

Nominees may be public policy advocates or policy makers, elected officials (particularly Members of Congress), program administrators, instructors (paid or volunteer), financial supporters, business leaders, partners, or students. The NCL Board is particularly interested in receiving nominations in the category of Emerging Voice for Adult Literacy, added this year. Federal agencies and private sector programs are also eligible, as are state and local initiatives that have received notable national attention or been widely recognized as models for the field. For information on previous award recipients, visit

The NCL Board anticipates making approximately four Literacy Leadership awards for 2018. In addition, the Board has designated a special award category this year, the Barbara Bush Lifetime Achievement in Adult Literacy Award.

The NCL Board will accept nominations from individuals and organizations with an interest in the field of adult literacy. Each nominator may make no more than one nomination.

Nomination forms ((available here)) are due by August 20 to Michele Diecuch: Award winners will be notified by August 27, and the awards event will be held on Capitol Hill during the last week of September 2018 (Adult Education and Family Literacy Week). As needed and by request, assistance may be available to offset awardees’ cost of travel to Washington, DC.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

%d bloggers like this: