Announcement: The 2018 Literacy Leadership Awards

Announcement: The 2018 Literacy Leadership Awards

It is our pleasure to announce the recipients of the NCL Literacy Leadership Awards for 2018. In addition to the Literacy Leadership Awards, this year the NCL Board will be making the inaugural Barbara Bush Lifetime Achievement in Adult Literacy Award. This new award is intended to recognize an individual who has made significant contributions as an advocate for adult literacy over a full professional career.
1. The inaugural Barbara Bush Lifetime Achievement in Adult Literacy Award: Gail Spangenberg

Gail Spangenberg has been a consistent and influential voice in support of educational opportunity for low-skilled adults for decades. Her focus has consistently been the expansion and improvement of policies and programs that allow these adults to develop the literacy and workplace skills necessary to support their families, promote their children’s education, and participate effectively in civic and community life.

2. Literacy Leadership Award: Senator Lisa Murkowski (R-AK)
The award recognizes the Senator for her longtime support of education at all levels, and particularly for her work on the recent reauthorization of the Carl D. Perkins Career and Technical Education Act. Her advocacy for the inclusion of tribes and tribal organizations opens the path to educational opportunity for youth and adults from these key populations of adult learners.
3. Literacy Leadership Award: National Center on Immigrant Integration Policy (Migration Policy Institute)
The award recognizes the Center, and its director, Margie McHugh, for its ongoing advocacy for education quality and access for adults who are immigrants and refugees.
4. Literacy Leadership Award: Student Ambassador Program
The award recognizes the program, developed by the staff at Pima Community College led by Regina Suitt, for its many years of success in both conducting advocacy for adult education and enabling adult learners to develop confidence in themselves and in their skills as advocates. That success, and the quality and value of the program, have led to its growth to national scale through the COABE Student Ambassador Training in the past year.
5. Literacy Leadership Award: Jeff Carter
The award recognizes Jeff’s long and effective career as an advocate for adult literacy and adult education, culminating in the presidency of the Committee for Education Funding.
The 2018 Literacy Leadership Awards will be presented to honorees at a formal event on Capitol Hill during Adult Education and Family Literacy Week. The event will take place on Tuesday, September 25, 2018, 4:00-6:00 PM, in the Cannon House Office Building, Room 340. This event is free and open to the public; you are welcome to attend. Those who plan to attend should RSVP to
Please feel free to share this announcement with colleagues who may be interested.
Our congratulations to all of the 2018 honorees!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

%d bloggers like this: