Browsed by
Category: NCL Awards

Literacy Leadership Awards 2017

Literacy Leadership Awards 2017

The NCL Literacy Leadership Awards event on October 4 was a great success, attended by numerous Congressional staffers and representatives of organizations across the adult literacy spectrum. Four awards were given:

Representative Rosa DeLauro (CT), for her long-standing dedication to our nation’s adult literacy and language programs. The Congresswoman was unable to attend the awards event in person, as she was busy with budget debate on the House floor at the time. Her legislative aide Brandon Honoré accepted the award on her behalf. The award was presented by Judy Mortrude of CLASP, the nominating organization, and Deborah Kennedy, NCL president.


DeLauro Award
Brendan Honore receives the award on behalf of Congresswoman DeLauro


Dr. Stephen Reder, Professor Emeritus of Applied Linguistics, Portland State University, for his tireless advocacy for adult learners and the field of adult education. Dr. Reder was not able to attend the event. He was nominated by both ProLiteracy and Margaret Patterson of Research Allies for Lifelong Learning, and his award was presented by Michele Diecuch of ProLiteracy.

M Diecuch photo
Michele Diecuch presents the Literacy Leadership Award to Steve Reder.

The Minnesota ABE Teaching and Learning Advancement System (ATLAS) at Hamline University, for its innovative, practitioner-centered program that provides quality in-service professional development for the ABE/ESOL workforce. Silja Kallenbach of World Education, the nominating organization, presented the award to Patsy Egan and Marisa Squadrito Geisler of ATLAS.

ATLAS award photo
Patsy Egan and Marisa Geisler of ATLAS with Silja Kallenbach of World Education

Sharon Darling, Founder and President, the National Center for Families Learning, for her key role in recognizing the critical link between parents’ education and children’s learning. Sharon spoke movingly of the importance of high quality, accessible family-based education. Representative John Yarmuth of Kentucky came straight to the event when debate on the House floor had ended, and arrived just in time to congratulate Sharon in person.

Yarmuth Darling photo
Congressman Yarmuth congratulates Sharon Darling.
2016 Literacy Leadership Award Winners

2016 Literacy Leadership Award Winners

2016 Literacy Leadership Awards

Today, on the 50th anniversary of International Literacy Day, the Board of Directors of the National Coalition for Literacy (NCL) is pleased to announce the winners of this year’s Literacy Leadership Awards. Our 2016 Literacy Leadership Awards Event will be held during Adult Education and Family Literacy Week, on Tuesday, September 27 from 5:30 p.m. – 7:30 p.m., here in Washington, DC in the Rayburn House Office Building, Room B-369.

The NCL Literacy Leadership Awards recognize individuals and/or organizations that have made extraordinary national contributions to improving adult literacy and English language learning in the United States. This year, the NCL will recognize the following outstanding individuals and organizations:

  • Johan Uvin, Acting Assistant Secretary, Office of Career, Technical, and Adult Education, U.S. Department of Education, for his long-standing commitment to advancing adult education at the local, state, and federal levels.
  • Senator Jack Reed, who has been a champion for Adult Education funding in the U.S. Senate, and at the forefront of legislative efforts to strengthen Adult Education research and Adult Education’s role in the workforce system and Career and Technical Education.
  • The Division of Consumer & Business Education at the Federal Trade Commission’s Bureau of Consumer Protection, for its commitment to serving and guiding adults with limited reading ability, and for its outreach to those working with them, particularly teachers in adult basic education and ESL programs.
  • Margaret Becker Patterson, of Research Allies for Lifelong Learning, and Marty Finsterbusch, of VALUE USA, for ALLIES, a groundbreaking research study on adult learner leadership.
  • John Y. Cole, Library of Congress Historian and founding Director of the Center for the Book, who has been instrumental in shaping numerous literacy and reading-promotion programs during his 50-year tenure at the Library, including the Library of Congress Literacy Awards.

In addition, retiring Congressman Rubén Hinojosa (D-TX), the Co-chair of the House Adult Literacy Caucus, will receive special recognition for his life-long commitment in support of adult education, and for outstanding leadership in advocating education as a congressional and national priority. Congressman Phil Roe (R-TN), Co-Chair of the House Adult Literacy Caucus, has also been invited.

Registration for the event is now open:

The NCL Literacy Leadership Awards are made possible through the generous support of NCL members, with additional support from ETS HiSET and the Dollar General Literacy Foundation. Find out more about becoming a sponsor.

2016 NCL Literacy Leadership Awards

2016 NCL Literacy Leadership Awards

Photo of awards

The National Coalition for Literacy is seeking award nominations from members for its annual Literacy Leadership Award Celebration. The event will be held in Washington D.C. on September 28, 2016 September 27, 2016.

A nominee must have made a significant contribution to the field of adult education and literacy.

Nominations are due by August 1 to Kristin Lahurd at Literacy Leadership Award winners will be notified by mid-August.

For more details and a nomination form, please go to: 2016 NCL Literacy Leadership Award Nominee Form.

%d bloggers like this: